Meanings

Tattoo

Wilted tree with branches wrapped around book tattoo

Someone recently asked me what my tattoo meant. And I said it was a nerdy reason but I got my tattoo at a time when I was feeling low.

My tattoo is of a wilted tree. It represents my reality. It’s wilted because reality sucks. The book represents my fantasy. As a bibliophile, I consider books my greatest escape from reality. The branches are wrapped around the book because I want my reality entwined with my fantasy; I want them to coexist. Because reality is kind of bleak, wrapping my thoughts around the idea of having another dimension that is better and magical makes living so much better. Finally, the birds represent me. It shows that I can fly to whichever direction I want to lead my life.

And I have a quill (my first tattoo) on the top left which represents my love for writing.

I’ve since treated my body art as an extension of what my life is and what it’s supposed to be. All of my tattoos define who I am as a person.

Leave a Reply

